the first time

the first time i rode a bicycle it was a yellow bmx. it was my birthday. i was overjoyed. there were no stabilisers on it but i didn’t care. i took it outside and jumped on. i think i scooted a bit then pedalled. i remember going really fast down a big hill but then i came to a kerb. i didn’t know what to do, i was afraid. the front wheel hit it and i went flying into the air. loads of people in suits and dresses, on their way back from church or someplace, gathered around me. everything was blurry and red. then all i can remember was picking the gravel out of my hand before i jumped back on my bike.

About ibikemcr

This I Bike MCR blog will be used to record the events and activities of I Bike MCR which includes some of the diverse bike groups and rides in Manchester that seek to promote cycling as a form of transport and as something fun.
This entry was posted in personal experience. Bookmark the permalink.